Knights online update

Just a quick post to let you all know that the excellent remake of the excellent Amiga indie game Knights (which I talked about in this entry here) has recieved an update and now has proper online play. The remake’s programmer is currently hosting a server. You can download the new version of the game from its homepage here.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Knights online update”

  1. Marc Says:

    Just want to say, nice website! Keep up the good work, I suppose you know Kim Lemon’s website?

    Regards!

  2. Stephen Says:

    Hi Matty,

    Thanks again for linking to my game. I’ve posted about it on the retroremakes.com forum and it seems to be getting some interest. http://retroremakes.com/forum/index.php/topic,732.0.html

    Did you have any lag issues by the way? When I played, my knight would sometimes shoot across the room several squares at a time – I think this was due to lag. Will have to have a look and see if anything can be done about that.

  3. Matty Says:

    I’ve not noticed any lag problems at all but then I’ve only played it online a few times. The person I’ve been playing against is a Knights newbie and seems to find the control system a bit complex.

  4. Stephen Says:

    Interesting – maybe it’s just my crappy wireless connection then.

    Regarding controls, I was actually thinking about other control methods at one point (perhaps something mouse based might work) but to start with I just went with the original game’s controls. Perhaps I should reconsider that at some point.

  5. Matty Says:

    I actually think the control system as it stands is pretty good, but that’s almost-certainly because I’m so used to it. 😉

    Might be an idea to allow for joypad play and to map certain things to certain button (ie have “attack” mapped to a certain button as well as the icons, same for “fire bolt”).

    Have you considered adding anything? More monsters, maybe?

  6. Stephen Says:

    I agree that the controls are good, but they are optimized for a joystick-and-one-fire-button setup and I just wonder if we could improve on that with modern input devices. Then again, I don’t want to make this a high priority at the moment (I guess not that many people would use a joypad feature anyway).

    Regards new stuff: I wanted to get the basic game working first (that was hard enough!) but now that’s done, yes, I am certainly thinking about what new stuff could be added. Unfortunately my artistic skills are not too hot, so anything involving new graphics would be… difficult.

    My immediate priorities right now are to fix a couple of remaining bugs and also to try and build up the player base a bit. I was thinking of setting up an online tournament sometime, assuming I could get enough people interested. Can I assume you would be interested in participating in such a thing? 🙂

  7. Matty Says:

    “Can I assume you would be interested in participating in such a thing?”

    Very 😀

Leave a Reply

