Twin Tiger Shark (V8?)

I can't get this far yet! I had to use this pic from the website as I was unable to screengrab my own game. Boo!

I can’t get this far yet! I had to use this pic from the website as I was unable to screengrab my own game. Boo!

I was saying to a friend recently that Taito’s excellent Flying Shark is one of those games that really sorts out the “cans” from the “cannots” when it comes to gaming. Finishing the first level of this fair-but-tough shooter feels like an achievement, let alone the full game. It really shows how much easier things have got in more recent years as many games move more and more towards being interactive playthings as much as, if not more than, a challenge to be beaten.

Anyway, I recently discovered Twin Tiger Shark by accident and it’s clearly influenced by Taito’s rock-hard classic. Whilst it’s not as punishing, it still puts up a pretty mean fight and has some lovely features including a power-up that brings a squadron of planes in to fight alongside you for a period as well as a first level boss which seems to be a nod to the classic scrolling 16-bit shooter Swiv.

You can get Twin Tiger Shark here. It runs in Java, unfortunately, but don’t let that put you off.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

